Show all records
Click image for high resolution zoom or multiple image views.

Biographical/Historical Information

Niels (Henrik David) Bohr, 1885-1962. Danish physicist. Nobel prize for physics 1922.

Marie Curie, 1867-1934. Physicist, Nobel Prize winner. With her husband, Pierre Curie, she discovered the elements radium and polonium and launched the study of modern physics.

Paul A(drien) M(aurice) Dirac, 1902-1984. English physicist. Nobel prize for physics 1933.

Enrico Fermi, 1901-1954. American physicist. Nobel prize for physics for discovery of neutron-induced nuclear reactions 1938.

Werner Heisenberg, 1901-1976. German physicist. Nobel prize for physics 1932.

Paul Langevin, 1872—1946. French physicist. Taught at Collège de France (from 1902) andÉcole Municipale de Physique et Chemie (from 1904); fled to Switzerland (1944). Known for work on secondary X-rays, the properties of ions in gases, the kinetic theory of gases, Brownian movement, the theory of magnetism, the theory of relativity.

Wolfgang Ernst Pauli, 1900-1958. Swiss physicist. Nobel prize for physics for his discovery (1925) of the Pauli exclusion principle 1945.

Sir Owen William Richardson, 1879—1959. English physicist. Nobel prize for physics 1928.

Arnold Johannes Wilhelm Sommerfeld, 1868-1951. German physicist.

John Hasbrouck Van Vleck, 1899-1980. American physicist. Nobel prize for physics (1977) for studies of atomic structure and magnetism.

Pieter Zeeman, 1865—1943. Dutch physicist. Professor, U. of Amsterdam (1900—35), and director (from 1908) of its Physical Institute. Discovered (based on suggestion of Hendrik A. Lorentz) the Zeeman effect, the resolution of single spectral lines into several components in a magnetic field (1896). Awarded (jointly with Lorentz) 1902 Nobel prize for physics.

Reproductions and Permissions

We welcome fair use of this content. Please credit the Leo Baeck Institute in your citation. For usage policies and to request higher resolution images, see Reproductions and Permissions.


Sixième Conseil de Physique, Leo Baeck Institute, F 13757.